

<u>Dartmouth Whalers Minor Hockey Association</u> <u>AGM Meeting Minutes</u>

Date: June 12, 2022

Time: 6:05 pm – 8:00pm

Location: Virtual Meeting Zoom/ Call In

*For a list of attendees please refer to the attendees report at the end of the minutes.

The meeting was called to order by the Acting President, Phil Power at 6:05PM. The Chair welcomed everyone to the Annual General Meeting.

1. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: To approve the agenda as amended. Brian McKeigan/Melissa Rugiski (Carried)

2. Previous Minutes

MOTION: To approve the minutes of the 2021 AGM (June X, 2021). *Brian MacKeigan/Deanette Williamson (Carried)*

3. Reports

The chair presented a powerpoint presentation giving an overview of the reports presented by the board. Copies of those reports are attached to the minutes for record purposes.

MOTION: To approve the reports as presented. Brian MacKeigan/Beth McMullian (Carried)

4. Changes to By-laws

A motion was made in advance of the Annual General Meeting and according to our existing by-laws to accommodate a change in governance given the workload and expectations of the Registrar's role.

Motion: Be it resolved that section 12(5) be removed from the existing bylaws. *Phil Power/Brian MacKeigan (Carried)*

IE. This bylaw would eliminate the Director of Registration Board position and convert this into a paid role to be defined and appointed by the Board. The new paid role would oversee the

Registration of DWMHA members and administrative functions of tracking memberships and payment of such.

Given this change and approval, the following change was also brought to the AGM for approval.

Quorum

Motion: Be it resolved that Section 77 for a quorum at meetings of the Board shall consist of at least six (6) Directors. *Phil Power/Brian MacKeigan (Carried)*

These bylaws changes will be submitted and filed with the Joint Registry of Stocks.

5. Election of Directors/Officers

As nominations closed for 21 days prior to the AGM, and there being only single candidates being presented for most roles, the candidates being presented are declared elected and no vote is required except for the Director of Competitive. The following candidates will now assume their respective Board roles:

Vice President	One candidate nominated.	Brian MacKeigan (acclaimed)	
Treasurer	One candidate nominated.	Melissa Ruginski (acclaimed)	
Director of U7 / U9	One candidate nominated.	David MacKenzie (acclaimed)	
Risk Management & Discipline	Open for election for one year (resignation)	Ron Watkins (acclaimed)	
Director of Communications	One candidate nominated.	Lacey Cyr (acclaimed)	

Two Candidates were nominated for the positions of Director of Competitive Hockey. Andrew McVicar and Myles Thompson. An election was held on Andrew McVicar was elected with the majority of votes as Director of Competitive Hockey.

MOTION: To appoint the elected and acclaimed positions as outlined above. *Phil Power/Pat Kammermans (Carried)*

6. Appointment of Finance/Audit Committee

A general notice was sent to the membership to ask for interest to serve on our Finance and Audit Committee. We would like to have three members to participate on this committee. The board will continue to seek out one more member to sit on the Finance and Audit Committee.

7. Other Business

The Chair asked if there was any other business to be discussed. The Chair welcomed and congratulated the incoming board members and thanked the outgoing board members for

their duty. Volunteers are at the heart of any organization, and this is no different for the Whalers. A special token of appreciation will be made to outgoing board members in the near future.

8. Adjournment

With no further business, the Chair asked for a motion for adjournment at 7:18 pm.

MOTION: To adjourn the AGM. *Brian MacKeigan/Beth McMullin (Carried)*

AGM Attendance (In person)

Beth MacMullin

Bill Short

Jamie Mills

David MacKenzie

Brian McKeigan

Pat Kammermans

Andrew McVicar

Melissa Ruginsksi

Myles Thompson

Chris Morrissey

Phil Power

Jim Cormier

Ron Watkins David (Woody) Menear

Rodney Barteau Jeff Pottie

Peter Dulhanty

AGM Attendance (Virtual)

Michael Rose Loni Barteau

Jill Tremblay Pamela Ferguson

Chris Prentice Suzanne Ferguson

Mark Alexander Donnie MacDonald

Jessica. Thompson Greg Baldwin

Kathy Macdonald Jackie

Krista McNeil Jim Cormier
Lacey Cyr Kwabby Oppong
Deanette Williamson David Walsh
Stephanie Varner Watt Greg Peters

Annette Williston Chantelle Mahoney

Leigh-Ann MacFarlane Len Preeper Stephanie Tobin Paul Woodford Craig Tobin Carl Poirier

Dana Simonsen Shawn MacDonald

Derek Taylor Tina McPhee
Michael Snow Lisa Ehler
Steve Coleman Jeff Merrick
Brian Addie Keri Smith
Jane Selig Matt Mahoney

Dorothy Hart